Yonezawa – 米沢市 – يونيزاوا

Yonezawa (米沢市, Yonezawa-shi) is a city located in Yamagata Prefecture, Japan. As of 2008, the city has an estimated population of 91,704 and the population density of 167 persons per square kilometer. The total area is 548.74 km².” (Wikipedia, September ’10).

I’ve first knew about Yonezawa from NHK channel. First, I wasn’t very interested to know more about it and was about to change the channel, but not when I’ve found that Yonezawa is where the Uesugi Samurai Clan used to live! From which, the famous Samurai soldier (Uesugi Kenshin) is. For this reason, an annual Samurai festival “Matsuri” is held in Yonezawa. I wish if I can make it someday at the Matsuri by a Shinkansen!!!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Takeshi
    Oct 07, 2010 @ 00:17:44

    Hi,Mishal.
    I would like to say what I can not typed in at facebook.
    One of my teacher, he has a class I attended and it was elementary school, he said he is from Yamagata Pref. And he told me about its culture.
    Needless to say it has plenty of snow, MUCH MORE hokkaido despite of its location,because of clouds from land(China).
    And another thing I thought interesting was that they eat LOCUSTS, with sweet and salty source. Such kind of meal called Tsukudani,and they are usually made from seeweed,mushroom etc, with the source. But they have locusts. I had them at the class of elementary school…still taste is not so worse than I expected. Many girls avoided to have them though lol

    Reply

    • peevishguy
      Oct 15, 2010 @ 17:22:44

      Hi Takeshi,

      Wow, never thought it snows out there in Yamagata! Sounds fun though.
      The combination of seaweed and mushroom sounds not bad at all, hehehe!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 556 other followers

